SAPA Awards:

Sino-American Pharmaceutical Professionals Association (SAPA) awards selected academic and industry leaders in the Pharmaceutical & Biotechnology field for their achievements and contribution in innovative research, healthcare advancement, product development, mentorship and education in the SAPA Annual Conferences every year.

2022 SAPA Distinguished Achievement Awards

Prof. David MacMillan, PhD, James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry, Princeton University, 2021 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry 

Dr. Dean Y. Li, MD, PhD, EVP and president, Merck Research Laboratories


Appendix I: Historic Awardees
SAPA Distinguished Leadership in Life Science and Healthcare Award

2020: Mr. Kenneth C. Frazier, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Merck & Co., Inc

SAPA Distinguished Achievement Awardees in 2018-2021

2021: Prof. Kenneth Kaitin, PhD, MS, Professor and Senior Fellow, Center for the Study of Drug Development, Tufts University School of Medicine

2020: Prof. Yibin Kang, PhD, Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Molecular Biology, Princeton University; Associate Director, Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey; President, Chinese Biological Investigator Society

2020: Dr. Litao Zhang, PhD, Global Head of Discovery Technology and Molecular Pharmacology (DTMP), Janssen Pharmaceuticals (Johnson & Johnson) 

2019: Dr. Xiaodong Wang, Director of National Institute of Biological Sciences and Co-Founder of Beigene, Beijing, China

2019: Dr. Lawrence X. Yu, Deputy Director, Office of Pharmaceutical Quality at CEDR, FDA

2018: Prof. David Ho, Rockefeller University, CEO of Aaron Diamond AIDS Research Center

2018: Dr. Ge Li, Founder and CEO, Wuxi AppTec

SAPA Lifetime Achievement Awardees in 2018-2020 

2020: Prof. Virginia Man-Yee Lee, PhD, John H. Ware 3rd Professor in Alzheimer’s Research, Director of the Center for Neurodegenerative Disease Research and Co-Director of the Marian S. Ware Alzheimer Drug Discovery Program, University of Pennsylvania 

2020: Dr. P. Roy Vagelos, MD, Retired Chairman & CEO, Merck & Co, Inc., Chairman of the Board, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

2019: Prof. Martin Chalfie, Nobel Laureate, Columbia University 

2018: Prof. Joachim Frank, Nobel Laureate, Columbia University 

Appendix II:
Selected Speakers of Annual Conferences:

Prof. Dudley Herschbach, Nobel Laureate, Harvard University

Prof. Jack Szostak, Nobel Laureate, Harvard Medical School

Prof. Craig Mello, Nobel Laureate, University of Massachusetts Medical Center

Prof. Bruce Beutler, Nobel Laureate, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Prof. K. Barry Sharpless, Nobel Laureate, Scripps Research Institute

Prof. Baruch S. Blumberg, Nobel Laureate, Fox Cancer Center

Prof. Ferenc Avraham Hershko, Nobel Laureate, Israel Institute of Technology

Prof. Yigong Shi, Dean of Life Science, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China

Industry & Government:

Dr. Binodh DeSilva, PhD, Vice President, Leads Development & Optimization, Bristol Myers Squibb

Dr. Kevin Campos, PhD, Vice President and Head of Process Research and Development, Merck & Co, Inc.

Dr. John Tsai, MD, Head of Global Drug Development and CMO, Novartis 

Dr. Jay Mei, PhD, Founder, Chairman & CEO, Antengene Corporation

Dr. Nianfeng (Oliver) Ju, MBA, Chairman & CEO, Board office of Porton Pharma Solutions Ltd. 

Dr. Dalvir Gill, PhD, CEO, TransCelerate Biopharma Inc. 

Mr. Simon Trowell, VP, Quality & Risk Management, Clinical Operations, Pharmaceutical R&D, GSK; Chair of TransCelerate Clinical Oversight Committee

Dr. Rupert Vessey, PhD, EVP and President, Research and Early Development, Bristol Myers Squibb 

Dr. Peter Stein, MD, Director, CDER, Office of New Drugs, Immediate Office, US FDA 

Dr. Peter Marks, Director, CBER, US FDA

Dr. Theresa Mullin, Director, office of strategic program, FDA/CDER and Chair of ICH management committee

Dr. Dean Li, MD, PhD, SVP, Discovery Science and Translational Medicine, Merck Research Laboratories 

Dr. Mathai Mammen, MD, PhD, Global Head of R&D, Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson 

Dr. Andrew Chan, MD, PhD, Senior VP Research Biology, Genentech 

Dr. Josh Ghaim, CTO, Johnson & Johnson, Family of Consumer Companies

Dr. Axel Hoos, Senior Vice President, Oncology R&D, GSK

Dr. Sandra Leung, Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, BMS

Mr. Isaac Blech, Managing Director, 21st Century Investors Group

Dr. Mathias Hukkelhoven, Senior Vice President, Bristol-Myers Squibb

Dr. David Lebwohl, Senior Vice President, Novartis

Dr. Deborah Dunsire, CEO, Millennium-Takeda

Dr. Cathryn Clary, Head, US Medical & Chief Scientific Officer, Novartis Pharmaceuticals 

Dr. Joe Camardo, Senior Vice President, Global Medical Affairs, Celgene Corporation

Dr. Michele Cleary, VP, Head of Clinical Translational Technologies & Operations, Bristol-Myers Squibb

Dr. Paul Deutsch, VP, Head of Translational Medicine & Early Development, Sanofi

Dr. JC Gutierrez-Ramos, Senior Vice President, Chief Scientific Officer, Pfizer

Dr. Ronald Krall, Sr. VP, World Wide Development and Chief Medical Officer, GlaxoSmithKline

Dr. Rich Tillyer, Sr. VP, Head of Discovery & Preclinical Sciences, Merck Research Laboratories

Dr. Lee Babiss, Head of Global Pharma Research, Roche

Dr. Robert R. Ruffalo, President, Wyeth Research

Dr. Alan Palkowitz, VP, Discovery Chemistry Research & technology, Eli Lilly & Company

Dr. Dequan Ren, Deputy Commissioner, State Food and Drug Administration of China (SFDA)

Dr. Stephen Wilson, Director, Division of Biometrics, FDA

Dr. Greg Geba, Former Director, Office of Generic Drugs at CDER, FDA

Dr. Joshua Ghaim, Chief Technology Officer, Johnson & Johnson Family of Consumer Companies

Mr. Lawrence Y. Tian, Chairman, CIFCO International Group